Welcome!

Hey, Good Looking! Welcome to my brand spanking new site. I am a newcomer to the world of blogging, although I’ve loved writing for as far back as I can remember. I’m very excited to share information and my thoughts about the dynamic world of nutrition, and I hope that what you read here is informative, helpful, enlightening, and, when all else fails, at least mildly entertaining.

I suppose now would be a great time to introduce myself. My name is Nicci, short for Nicole. Yep, that is Nicci with two Cs. (Pronounced just like broccoli with that hard C sound…)

Anyway, I just graduated with my Bachelors of Science degree in Human Nutrition from THE Ohio State University. My actual program of study was Dietetics, which means that some day in the not-so-distant future I will legally be able to counsel people on their individual food choices and eating habits. In the meantime, I will be completing my Dietetic Internship at Rush University Medical Center in Chicago along with a Masters of Science in Nutrition.

So, why nutrition? And why write about it? I was attracted to the science of nutrition because it fascinates me how much we are affected by what we eat. In its simplest form, food is energy and fuel for our bodies. From there, the possibilities are limitless. Food to prevent disease, food to help cure illness, food to make our minds sharper…I could go on, and I will! That’s what this blog is for.

I want to write about nutrition because I believe that all of the knowledge we now have about nutrition should be shared with a wider population. Advice should be more than just “Fruits and vegetables are good for you and fast food is bad for you.” I think that the science behind nutrition should be translated from reliable sources within the field. I do consider myself reliable, and I will never, ever blog about something without knowing the facts behind the subject.

So, for the time being, I’m going to take what I know and put it out there for the world to absorb. I am more than happy to receive constructive feedback on my posts, as well as your thoughts and comments on the subjects. I plan on writing about topics I come across…whether they are subjects that tickle my fancy or questions I get from friends and family members.

Me with Remy, my wonderful, loving, rambunctious, impatient dog.

Besides nutrition, I take great joy in reading for fun, running (when the weather is perfect, when I’m feeling perfectly energized, and when a host of other conditions are met…ha), enjoying the company of my family and friends, writing, dancing in my living room, and singing loudly in the car. I love playing with my dog, Remy, and I LOVE all things brightly colored. I greatly dislike whining (not to be confused with wining), raw tomatoes, poor grammar, uncooperative hair days, fad diets, and when Ohio State loses in football.

I think that’s quite enough for my first post so…Thanks for visiting! Talk to ya later :)

P.S. – I have not quite mastered the lay-out features of this site, so if it looks a little different every time you visit for the next couple weeks, just roll with it!

 

Comments
One Response to “Welcome!”
  1. Welcome to the world of food blogging. So far, so good. Some good potential. Just don’t forget to update every so often. Want to keep people tuned in. Good luck from someone who has been doing it for awhile (and based in Chicago) (and an OSU fan). balanceoffood.com. Chad

Leave a comment