What’s with the Name?

I’ve had some people ask me why I’ve decided to call the site “Hey Good Looking!” instead of something that better alludes to the nutritional content within. That, my friends, is a darn good question. I’ve come up with several answers, so you can feel free to choose your favorite:

1.) I like it.

2.) I love the song “Hey Good Lookin’.” The Jimmy Buffett & friends version, that is. (Alan Jackson, Clint Black, George Strait, and Kenny Chesney sing on the track.) If you have yet to hear it, hop onto iTunes or Spotify or YouTube or whatever and give it a listen. (Yes, there is an original version by Hank Williams, but it’s a bit…dated for my taste.) If you aren’t cheered by the island undertones and smooth country voices, then my guess is you REALLY don’t like country music. If that’s the case, we should agree to disagree on that point and you can pick a different reason for the name choice.

3.) Music aside, the lyrics in the song actually speak to a lot of issues surrounding nutrition and eating. Yes, the song is actually about a guy singing to a good lookin’ woman, but let’s extrapolate for a moment (ignoring the grammar): “Whatcha got cookin’?” gives us the cooking piece, “We could find us a brand new recipe” gives us the creative and adventurous side of eating, and all the “Good lookin’” talk gives us the part about looking good (and, further, feeling good). Get it? …No? Well, it makes sense in my brain, at least…

Speaking of “Lookin’ Good,” I should also mention that I’m a big fan of things looking good while I cook them…food presentation aside, I love my orange kitchen supplies. I think it adds a delightful element to cooking. Without them, I may never have cooked for myself this last year…

4.) Throughout my posts, you may see me referring to the “trifecta.” What is the trifecta, you ask? The trifecta is, naturally, composed of three parts: eating well, living well, and looking good. In my experiences, if you manage to achieve at least two of these, the third one follows with ease. (i.e. If you eat well and live well, you’ll look good, and if you look good and live well, you must be eating well, etc.) Once you achieve all three parts, the trifecta translates into FEELING well. And really, that’s all we can ever hope for, right? So the title “Hey Good Looking” refers to perhaps the most talked-about part of the trifecta: looking good.

5.) I felt like I needed a catch phrase, and this one makes me happy. Someday, if this blog expands, I can hop onto Twitter and give little pieces of advice with #heygoodlooking. Or maybe (go with me on this…) someday I’ll be asked to appear on a talk show, and I can open with, “Hey, good looking!” directed to the cheering crowd. If you know me, you’re probably rolling your eyes at this point but, hey, a girl can dream, right?

So there you have it. Hopefully you don’t think I’m a nutcase! From now on, these posts really will be directed towards nutrition information, so don’t write me off just yet. It’s gonna be fun!

Comments
3 Responses to “What’s with the Name?”
  1. DB says:

    This is great, Nicci! If you need to pose for an issue, let me know (I coiuld be the “before” piucure)!

  2. DB says:

    Sorry – I should have used Spellcheck!

Leave a Reply

