Nicci’s Super Amazing Spin on Egg Salad

I made something delicious recently. It may seem like nothing to you, but cooking isn’t exactly my favorite thing to do (especially for just myself). If I must cook, I prefer an audience that eats my creations, then showers me with praise.

The problem with me and cooking is that I take too long to do everything. Something that would take my mother 20 minutes takes me an hour. Plus there’s that bit about the mess that you’re supposed to clean up along the way (which is ALWAYS cleaned up afterwards in my case…I don’t like washing dishes, and I REALLY don’t like washing dishes after I’ve just slaved over a hot stove for hours.)

But, of course, if I don’t cook, I go hungry. Poor college students don’t have the luxury of eating out all the time. It really is a “damned if you do, damned if you don’t” type of situation.

Anyway, I was SO PLEASED with myself that the 90 minutes it took to make my creation was 100% worth it. I even patted myself on the back. I call it “Nicci’s Super Amazing Spin on Egg Salad.”

Okay, so now you’re laughing at me because you just realized it took me an hour and a half to make egg salad. I’ll let it pass and continue…

This egg salad is terrific. I decided to make it because I FINALLY had mayonnaise and mustard in my refrigerator, left over from my mom from my little graduation picnic in June. I generally don’t use condiments (and neither do my roommates…we aren’t sandwich people), so for the first time in four years, this was a pretty exciting addition to the fridge.

Tangent alert: The other reason I decided to make egg salad is because, although I make really beautiful fried eggs, for some reason, I can’t scramble eggs. I’d like to say it’s due to my temperamental electric stove, but I can’t do it on my mother’s brilliant gas stove with her fancy, non-stick pans, either. Long story short, I had ham, eggs, and orange pepper, but I couldn’t make an omelet. Then I remembered the mayonnaise and mustard and I was like…

BAM! Nicci outwits the stove!

So I guess we could also call this “Nicci’s Super Amazing Hard Boiled Omelet.” Because that’s basically what this is.

Before I tell you the recipe and nutrition facts, let me first point out a couple of benefits of this:

  1. SUPER DELICIOUS
  2. High in protein (which almost all of us could use more of)
  3. Low in carbs (which almost all of us could use less of)
  4. Relatively simple to make, especially if you know a trick to dicing hard boiled eggs (which I don’t**).
  5. Low in saturated (bad) fat, high in unsaturated (good) fats (!!!!!!!)

**My hardboiled egg slicer leaves a bit to be desired. So I tried to use my Rachel Ray orange butcher knife. I would say that my attempt was about 68% successful, 4% painful, and 28% a pain in the butt.

Anywhooo, I boiled my eggs (eight of them, because I was making four portions of this). Here’s the trick:

  • Put the eggs in the pot
  • Cover eggs with water
  • Put the lid on and turn the stove on
  • Let the water come to a boil
  • “Hard boil” the eggs for 9 minutes
  • Drain them and cover them in cold water

This way, you create the most beautiful hard boiled eggs EVER. The yolks are cooked all the way through, but they don’t have that ugly dark greenish-grayish ring around them. In the past, I’ve managed to cook them both undesirable ways. Undercooked yolks aren’t terrible, but, as it turns out, don’t do well in a microwave to finish them off.

BUT WAIT! I know you’re thinking…“Nicci, I thought eggs were bad for you and high in cholesterol!” If you don’t have cholesterol issues, eggs are a great source of protein and other necessary nutrients like Vitamin D. Eating a couple of eggs a few times a week, or one egg every day, is totally healthy. (The experts say so right here.)

Moving on. I made four servings and stored them all in separate containers so they would be easy to grab for the week.

THE RECIPE: 1 Serving

  • 2 Large eggs, hardboiled and diced
  • 30 g Ham, cooked and diced (the kind you put in the oven is best. If not, grocery stores now sell diced chunks of ham. Very convenient if you don’t have a mother that cooks, dices, and freezes meat for you, like mine does. Thanks Mom!)
  • ¼ Orange Pepper, diced small
  • Dash of paprika (that’s five shakes if you have the kind of paprika with the lid with the holes on it)
  • 1 t. Mustard
  • ½ T. Hellman’s Low Fat Olive Oil Mayonnaise (this is where those healthy fats really come in)
  • Black Pepper to taste (I guess, if you want…I didn’t, but then, I’m not a pepper person)
  • NO SALT NEEDED (Seriously. The ham takes care of it.)

Now I think you’re probably laughing again, because you just realized that not only did egg salad take me 90 minutes to make, but my mother actually cooked and diced the ham up for me. In my defense, dicing the eggs was difficult. And I measured everything out exactly so I could give you accurate nutritional info.

THE NUTRITION FACTS:

            Calories: 215

            CHO: 3g

            Fiber: .5 g

            Protein: 17 g

            Total Fat: 15 g

                        Saturated Fat: 4 g

                        Unsaturated Fat: 11 g

 

I ate it plain with a spoon, but I guess you could also eat it with Triscuits (6 = 120 calories) or perhaps a toasted slice of Rye Bread (80-120 calories depending how big your slice).

YUM! :)

Comments
2 Responses to “Nicci’s Super Amazing Spin on Egg Salad”
  1. Rachel J says:

    Nicci – I was so excited to see your post because I’ve been making a lot of egg salad lately. We’ve had an overabundance of eggs from our poultry CSA this year! Anyway, your recipe sounds great. My most recent batch was thrown together with things I had on hand, too. I chopped up some jalapenos from my sisters garden and used some greek yogurt instead of the mayo. I’m much more likely to have plain greek yogurt on hand and it was DELISH. It really gave the egg salad a zing and much healthier than the mayo – even the low fat kind (I think that olive oil mayo is sort of a marketing ploy – its generally still mostly soybean oil and I try to avoid soy). Have you ever tried making your own homemade olive oil mayo? I’ve also used leftover bacon slices chopped up in egg salad. But anyway – I think egg salad is so underrated as a food. You really can play with the recipes an awful lot with ingredients you have on hand.

    • Nicci says:

      Thanks for the tip about the Greek Yogurt! I’ll have to try it that way next time :) I’ve not made homemade mayo before – have you? The Hellman’s with Olive Oil does have soy bean oil in it, but I was impressed with the 5 g of unsaturated fats (compared to 3 g in the Light Mayo. Regular Mayo has 8.5 g, but I never eat regular…) I’m definitely switching to the Greek Yogurt from now on!!

Leave a Reply

